Interactive Session 7

2 Feb

Hello everyone! Sorry for the delay, we have been really busy with the magazine and stuff. So here are the haikus in response to the last writing activity. Enjoy and don’t forget to post your views!

1. Shreyas Tripathy

The flowing river is carrying

The colors of change

While the breeze is cool and crisp

 

2. Serena Cooke

Vitality sings

A blizzard spins gold from snow

Ring the bells

 

 

3. Eulogy- Allison Haferman

Weep for their gutless selves’

now fill your basket, we are leaving

the harvest is over.

 

4.. Shanice Blackwood

Your fading essence,

Yet so constant is your presence.

You are here, now you’re gone.

 

5.Catherine Ayres Thin quiet light

and a sense of waiting

brings me Winter.

 

 

6. Katy Ribar In the darkest night

With the winds sorrow cry

Tears of black ice fall

 

7. Natsha Pasch

Love letters sent when you pass

I promise always

Decant tea daily, for you

6 Responses to “Interactive Session 7”

  1. Shreyas Tripathy February 3, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    Shanice Blackwood – AMAZING HAIKU !!!!!!!!!
    Katy Ribar – Very artistically written

  2. Allison February 4, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    I really enjoyed reading these. Catherine Ayres, you have done it again! Sharp, cohesive and relatable. I’ve never invested much time into Haiku; however after this exercise I’d like to practice more knowing the “rules” are not as they seemed. Lesson Learned- Haiku do not have titles. Whoops @ me.

  3. Katy R February 4, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Thank you Shreyas! Yous is truly beautiful! I can almost feel the breeze, Wonderful!
    Serena- Yours I felt had great energy coming with the piece, and I love the word choice, it had a beautiful flow to it.
    Natsha – I found a sad undertone to this, and I also loved the word choice to this piece. It is written with such care and it flows just right. Great job!
    Catherine – I like this one because to me it seems more melancholy, the imagery at the beginning is beautiful to think about as the next to lines finish the piece. (I may have it wrong), I really liked this. I thought it was beautiful.
    Allison – I really enjoyed the imagery you were able to portray in the piece, this was a strong piece and I thought it flowed very nicely.
    Shanice – This piece was great because it felt as if there was a lot of emotion coming from the piece. It is nicely written.

    I thought everyone did an amazing job with their Haiku’s – my comments did no justice! This was a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed reading what everyone else wrote as well.

  4. Natasha February 12, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    @Shreyas- What a good little poem. No matter how many nature poems people write, it seems as if people are always so enthralled and have different views of what nature brings. I think we all can look and experience something different when we visualize what nature puts in front of us. well done.
    @Serena- This is a great poem regarding the Winter months. It has a seasons greetings vibe, but also a “loud” aspect (bells and blizzard being slightly loud and “violent” )–it’s great that you pair harsh with light in your haiku.
    @Shanice- I really enjoyed the flow and rhyme of this. I think you could say you are instead of you’re for more professionalism, but other then that I think it had a haunting aspect to it.
    @Catherine- I think your poem was pretty well done, but could use some substance. It was quite literal, but then again my taste is a bit more abstract and having mystery behind it is more alluring. But you did capture the winter months nicely in your poem.
    @Allison- I really enjoyed the abstract blank feeling and mystery this haiku possessed. I think it could be about multiple things, and it lets the reader decide and have a viewpoint, instead of it being literal. I think this is a wondrous poem and you did an excellent job on it!
    @Katy- I think the last line of your haiku is the most wonderfully written part! It really does bring and draw the reader in, encapsulating the poem nicely in the end. I really enjoyed your hard work in bringing loads of personification to view.

    Everyone did such a wonderful job taking into consideration a haiku can be simple and “Easy” if you just come up with something in five minutes. But, I feel as poets we all contributed very well and really thought about what we were writing and trying to all bring personification and symbolize to each of the haiku’s. Great activity.

  5. Shanice February 18, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    … i tried my best and it paid off… I’ve seen some very creative and diverse haiku… amazing talent in this group.

  6. Shanice February 18, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    Amazing talent

Leave a Reply

