Interactive Session 6

11 Jan

We hope you  all enjoyed the last writing exercise as much as we loved reading your beautiful poems. Below are all the monostich poems we received from this exercise along with the winners. As promised, the winners would receive the free copy of the current issue of the Miracle e-zine. The next activity would be posted up by Sunday, so don’t forget to have a look at it! Here we go:

Regret:

The tender kiss grasps every heart and soul.(Shanice Blackwood)

There are no regrets for the goals I’ve set (Shreyas Tripathy)

 

A Burnt Candle:
Death is the wisp of smoke that rises from the blackened wick. (Serena Cooke)

Strike a match and feel me burn down to my fire.  (Katy Ribar)

The Truth:

 

Experience completes our life cycle. (Shreyas Triptahy)

The lake cries as ripples from a dropped stone encircle the flat Earth.  (Serena Cooke)

 

 Echoes:

Rain bangs a thousand tiny drums at night. (Catherine Ayres)

Air recoils in the hollows of earths winds. (Natasha Pasch)

Woodland:

 

Slump trees outcry as I weep. (Natasha Pasch)

Trapped in a forest of my own deception. (Lesley Crigger)

 

 

The Devil’s Dance

The devil danced the darkness into your soul (Katy Ribar)

These hot orange tendrils caress the coal (Catherine Ayres)

 

Trapped

 The map to my escape is carved upon my arm. (Lesley Crigger)

 A glimpse of hope and the stone of reality. (Shanice Blackwood)

 

 Winners:

Best Title : Woodland (written by Ntasha Pasch)

Best Poem: Echoes (written by Catherine Ayres)

Best Poem form a given title: The Truth( Serena Cooke)

Congratulations to all the winners! 

P.S Don’t forget to post in your suggestions about the poems. 

 

 

4 Responses to “Interactive Session 6”

  1. Natasha January 12, 2013 at 2:55 am #

    I can’t even begin to pick which one of these is my favorite- everyone did so well!! The poems flow so well for it being two completely different people.

    “The Truth”–this poem flowed well because the first line was an introduction or title of sorts, then it went into the meaning and thought.

    “Regret”- this poem to me i felt had different meanings (which is okay!!)–it was interesting how the word regret was interpreted and how they said the opposite.

    “A Burnt Candle”- This poem was great!! I could really feel the imagery from both lines–the second line was a nice closer and how the wick was withering away.

    “The Devils Dance”- I really enjoyed this poem because it rhymed!! – thought it was my favorite poem actually. It also is my favorite title of a poem–really draws the reader in and makes you want to explore

    • Serena January 12, 2013 at 10:15 am #

      These poems are of such high standard, I love them all!

      ‘The Devil’s Dance’ I feel is an actual couplet and hasn’t been written separately at all! It flows very nicely.

      ‘Trapped’ although I think it doesn’t flow as nicely as ‘Devil’s Dance’ I still love it because of that fact, because it shows how a person’s thoughts might be when they’re trapped: jumbled and not really making sense together.

      ‘Regret’ I think might possibly be my favourite because both poems are so emotionally linked and work beautifully together.

      But well done everyone – all the poems here are amazing!

  2. Shreyas Tripathy January 13, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Loved all the poems ! Amazing talent you guys have ! CHEERS 🙂

  3. Katy R February 2, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    I know my reply comes a little late :)! I agree I had read this when they were first posted and I too thought they were all amazing.
    Regret – I found this one very emotionally touching, and I could see the two different meanings, I also felt very moved by each one.
    Echos – also spoke to me, I really loved the imagery in this one, it stayed very strong in my mind.
    Woodland, to me it seemed as if these two lines fit together perfectly – for me it was a very sad piece, with strong emotion. I could relate to this one, so it spoke to me personally as well.
    On a side note as I was reading through your comments, I think it is awesome how these turned out! Putting these together from two different people and seeing the end result was so much fun, and they all turned out great. They all have some special way they have spoken out to me. In reading your comments on The Devils Dance, I hadn’t even realized the flow or rhythm of the end result. I agree Serena it is as if it was written as a couplet 🙂
    I really enjoyed this exercise, and I really enjoyed reading everyone else’s and seeing how they fit together.
    Amazing job everyone!

Leave a Reply

